Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > Horse Race Betting Systems
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Old 20th January 2014, 10:11 PM

Question When Do You Give Up On A System?

As per the title, how do you know if/when a system has had its day? The answer, I suppose, is pretty obvious - when you run out of money! But really, is there a certain point when you no longer have confidence in a system?

I have been betting a system since 1 October, 2013. I won't go into details suffice to say it is a laying system, one horse per qualifying race. There have been 2616 bets up to 4th Jan (I haven't updated my overall records since then but I'd imagine it would be over 3000 bets now).

I started off laying at $30 liability using a ratchet staking system and have had it up to $60 liability. Due to recent losses I have re calibrated the bet amount at the start of January at $40 liability and am currently at $48 liability. It should really be at $38 liability if I wasn't using ratchet stakes.

The bank has gone from $0 to it's highest point of $1390 on 21 Dec. Since then the bank has dropped down to $800 with a $95 loss today. Another $100 loss will see the bank down 50% from it's high.

Should I call it quits there (at 50% down from the high)? Should I do it now?

I remember someone saying on here (I'm sorry I can't remember who) that he never bets over the Christmas/New Year period. I wonder whether that has got anything to do with it and also when that person starts to get back into it?

I have attached a graph.

Well, what would you do if you were in my shoes? (This is the only system I have got so I can't even keep it up and offset the losses against any other system).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  Excel Betting Graph.jpg
Views: 769
Size:  47.6 KB  

― Earl Nightingale
Old 20th January 2014, 10:34 PM