Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > Horse Race Betting Systems
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Old 23rd February 2005, 10:07 AM

Default Ratings help!

Sorry if this sounds completely stupid, but i am just starting out. I do my regular form analysis each week based on all majour factors formline, barrier (you know the rest). I was just wondering how you guys convert this information to establish price ratings such as those expressed in the ratings challenge? For example if i find a horse that i this is the winner, how do i rate this horse at a price? Furthermore, once i do rate say my top 4 runners at prices i assume that if my prices are below those given by TAB or bookmakers that i back the horse? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 23rd February 2005, 04:55 PM

Wink

Tenacious, you need to allot some kind of figures to each of your factors, add the total for all horses in the race then divide each horses total by the race total this will give you a percentage you can convert to odds. Your last statement is correct about backing the horses that you get better prices for than what you rate them at. Some good sites for free horse ratings are ozeform, Tasmanian tote site. Hope this helps and good luck, youll certainly need it.
Old 23rd February 2005, 05:39 PM

Tenacious,

First of all, if you can, you should try to make an assessment of how many lengths or kgs ahead of the field your top horse is. Take a look at the thread on this forum called 'Converting Ratings To Prices'. Might help you out. I'll show you an example from today using the pricing method I explain on that thread.

Here are the weight ratings I worked out for the Mornington Cup today:
8 Kounthekash 68
2 Charnwood Green 67.5
5 Fonome 64
3 Cool Trent 61
10 Highclere 61
1 Gunnamatta 60.5
9 Honest Politician 58
7 Garrard 57.5