Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > Horse Race Betting Systems
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Old 8th September 2005, 02:03 PM

Question Advice required : Am I testing my system correctly?

Hi,

I am new to all of this and had a couple of questions which I hope you can answer.

1. When do you know the system is good enough to use ?
2. How many races are acceptable for testing before using a system ?

I am just asking as I have been testing a system I devised. It was based on analysis of races over a 1 month period ( back with 2003 data )

I then ran the system over various time frames in the future ( During 2004 and 2005) and it has performed well.

Is this how I should be testing systems ? (ie I have not back fitted to the best combination over the last few years).

Without giving away too much detail on the system, the figures it has produced are :

These figures are based on an even staking plan of 1% of bank per race.

Avg bets per week : 15
WIN strike rate : 43%
Avg WIN POT % : 21%
Place strike Rate : 82%
Avg place POT % : 39%

I have tested this manually on over 500 Bets at different time frames (different months, years )

Should I start to use the system live ? Or do I need more testing. My inital estimate for testing was 1000 bets but since I do this manually it can take forever to input all of the required data. Another 500 bets could take me 2-3 weeks input.

Also is there any other way I should be testing ? I thought taking the system over various timeframes would be the best way before running it live.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 8th September 2005, 02:14 PM